Part 4 – God Doesn’t Make Junk . . .

“As he thinks within himself, so he is.” —Proverbs 23:7 (NASB)

“God doesn’t make junk, mistakes, or spare parts.  He made YOU for a purpose!”

It’s your choice to believe this truth about yourself, but God wants your thinking cleared of the muck. He wants your thoughts to be transformed so you can be ALL that He created and purposed you to be to glorify Him. If you have accepted Jesus as your Savior, you are a NEW CREATURE IN CHRIST. The old has passed away and YOU ARE GOD’S ADOPTED DAUGHTER, AN HEIR TO ALL HIS RICHES AND GLORY! And your true beauty shines from within.

So . . . , do you know how God sees you?

The following is a partial list of the many truths about YOU from God’s vantage point as His daughter. Are you going to choose to believe Him or believe the enemy who will continue to whisper lies in your ear? The more we consciously embrace God’s truths about ourselves, the more authentic, stable, humble, grateful, fully assured, and confident we will live day to day.

The first step toward transformation is to honestly ask myself: Do I really want to be freed from the thorn bushes and thistles rooted in my past? Do I choose to be “a new creation” in Christ Jesus? (2 Corinthians 5:17)

God has given us many promises, and many of those promises are based in our response to Him and participation with Him in our daily lives. Be assured that He is faithful to His Word; you can take that truth to the eternal bank! In John 8:31-32 God promises:

“If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.”

You need only to train your thoughts, your heart, to continually BELIEVE and continually RENEW your mind.

Truth and Benefits of the Believer 

In Christ . . .

  • I am God’s beloved child.

To all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God (John 1:12).

  • I am loved by God. He has chosen me.

We know, brothers and sisters loved by God, that he has chosen you (1 Thessalonians 1:4).

  •  My old self was crucified with Christ when I received Him as Savior, and I am no longer a slave to sin.

We know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin (Romans 6:6). For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God (Colossians 3:3). Put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness (Ephesians 4:24).

  • I have been vindicated and reborn.

All are justified [vindicated] freely by his grace [favor] through the redemption [rebirth] that came by Christ Jesus (Romans 3:24).

  • I am no longer condemned by God; I have been made FREE!

There is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. (Romans 8:2). It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery (Galatians 5:1).

  • I am a new creature in Christ; the old is gone!

If anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here (2 Corinthians 5:17)!

  • I am accepted by Christ.

I am accepted by Christ. Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God (Romans 15:7).

  • I am no longer a slave, but an heir with Christ.

You are no longer a slave, but God’s child; and since you are his child, God has made you also an heir (Galatians 4:7).

  • I have God’s abundant provision of grace and the gift of righteousness

For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ (Romans 5:17)!

  • I have been made alive with Christ.

Because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved (Ephesians 2:4-5).

  • I am a fellow an heir with Christ, which makes me a full-fledged princess!

If we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory (Romans 8:17).

  • I am “one” with the Lord’s Spirit.

Whoever is united with the Lord is one with him in spirit (1 Corinthians 6:17).

  • I will bear much fruit as a branch of Jesus.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing (John 15:5).

  •  I have nothing to fear, for I have been given POWER, LOVE, and a self-control!

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7)

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you (Deuteronomy 31:6.) I can do all this through him who gives me strength (Philippians 4:13)

  • I am a friend of Jesus.

I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you (John 15:15b).

  • I have been called to be a holy—not perfect but righteous in Christ.

To those sanctified in Christ Jesus and called to be his holy people, together with all those everywhere who call on the name of our Lord Jesus Christ—their Lord and ours (1 Corinthians 1:2).

  • I have been chosen of God, and I am holy and beloved.

As God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience (Colossians 3:12).

  • God is my wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, and redemption through Christ.

It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption (1 Corinthians 1:30).

  • God leads me successfully, victoriously, magnificently and makes Himself known to me.

Thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere (2 Corinthians 2:14).

  • My body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who dwells in me.

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies (1 Corinthians 6:19-20).

  • By my obedience to Christ, I am becoming the righteousness of God in Christ.

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21). Be transformed by the renewing of your mind (Romans 12:2).

  • I am one with all believers in Christ.

There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus (Galatians 3:28). Through the gospel the Gentiles are heirs together with Israel, members together of one body, and sharers together in the promise in Christ Jesus (Ephesians 3:6).

  • I have been blessed with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ (Ephesians 1:3).

  • I am chosen, holy, and blameless before God.

He chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight (Ephesians 1:4).

  • I am redeemed and forgiven by the grace of Christ.

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace (Ephesians 1:7).

  • I have been predestined by God to obtain an inheritance.

In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will (Ephesians 1:11).

  • I have been sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise.

You also were included in Christ when you heard the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation. When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit (Ephesians 1:13).

  • I am seated in the heavenly places with Christ.

God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus (Ephesians 2:6).

  • I am God’s workmanship created to produce good works.

We are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do (Ephesians 2:10).

  • I have been brought near to God by the blood of Christ.

Now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ (Ephesians 2:13).

  • I have been granted the freedom and confidence to approach God.

In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence (Ephesians 3:12).

  • I was formerly darkness, but now I am light in the Lord.

You were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (Ephesians 5:8).

  • I am a guaranteed citizen of heaven.

Our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ (Philippians 3:20).

  • I can have the peace of God.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7).

  • God is my Provider; He supplies all my needs.

My God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Now to our God and Father be the glory forever and ever (Philippians 4:19).

  • I have been made complete in Christ.

In Christ you have been brought to fullness. He is the head over every power and authority (Colossians 2:10).

  • I have been raised up with Christ.

Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God (Colossians 3:1).

  • Christ is my life and I will be revealed in glory with Him.

When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory (Colossians 3:4).

—Sara M.

Printable “Benefits of the Believer”


Part 1 / Part 2 / Part 3 / Part 4

One comment

Leave a Reply

