Promises for Overcoming

To overcome means to “run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith,”¹ and at the end be able to say, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”²

God is not only loving and gracious and patience and kind . . . He’s also encouraging. His Word is full of promises and Jesus runs beside us, cheering us on with those promises as we’re headed toward the finish line with Him.

Some of my favorite promises of Abba (Father; God) are the seven from the Book of Revelation about overcoming. Those promises are herald loudly to the church (the body of Christ), cheering her on. But we sometimes forget that WE ARE (you and I; believers) the body Christ. These seven astounding promises are for you personally, and for me. As my 92-year-old aunt would say, “Write it on a rock!” In other words, engrave these promises in your heart. Memorize them. Print them and tape them to your bathroom mirror; hang them from your fridge; paint them; write them; sing them . . . to help you “run with endurance” to your life’s finish line. (The generic pronoun “he” in each verse, referring to ALL believers, has been exchanged for “she” for the purpose of this inspiration to women.)

Printable Promises

1“To her who overcomes, I will give to eat from the tree of life, which is in the midst of the Paradise of God” (Revelation 2:7).

amazing-736884_640

2She who overcomes will not be hurt by the second death” (Revelation 2:11).

woman-570883_960_720

3“To her who overcomes, to him I will give some of the hidden manna, and I will give her a white stone, and a new name written on the stone which no one knows but she who receives it” (Revelation 2:17).

WhiteStone-NEW-NAME-only

4She who overcomes, . . . who keeps My deeds until the end, to her I will give authority over the nations . . . ; and I will give her the morning star” (Revelation 2:26-28). star

ribblehead-viaduct-2443085_640

5She who overcomes will thus be clothed in white garments; and I will not erase her name from the book of life, and I will confess her name before My Father and before His angels” (Revelation 3:5).

white-2593767_640

6She who overcomes, I will make her a pillar in the temple of My God . . . ; and I will write on her the name of My God, and the name of the city of My God, the new Jerusalem, which comes down out of heaven from My God, and My new name” (Revelation 3:12).

goddess-185454_960_720

WOW! All of heaven is shouting “HALLELUJAH!” But there’s one more! Have you ever considered sitting on the very throne of God with Jesus?

7She who overcomes, I will grant to her to sit down with Me on My throne, as I also overcame and sat down with My Father on His throne” (Revelation 3:21).

hqdefault

If you think heaven might be boring after awhile, read the very comprehensive biblical study, possibilities, imaginative thoughts about heaven in Randy Alcorn’s book: Heaven. You’ll be AMAZED by what’s in store and possible for believers living life on the New Earth encased in the New Heaven, using your gifts to the fullest and without sin!! Now that’s “paradise!”


¹ Hebrews 12:1 ESV
² 2 Timothy 4:7 ESV

Promise verses have been taken from the New American Standard Bible, Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation, La Habra, Calif. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

